Pon Di Gaza – Sherjei Edition

This is the first in a series of post about my experiences living in Waterford St. Catherine. I happen to live “Pon the Gaza” and after four years of being there some things are still shocking for me.

I hate being called a “Gaza-girl” because I resent a lot of the values my neighbours seem to possess. Maybe I didn’t try hard enough but after so long I still do not understand how they operate and I want more than anything else to move to a different neighbourhood. The Gaza represents for me a place of modern day enslavement for a number of young people. The good old “Addi the Daddy” just need to send (not so regularly) straight jeans and shovel mouth caps and that keeps “the youth dem” loyal. Seriously though? That’s all it takes? I mean i could be an area leader too… shopping in bulk isn’t that expensive.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against Vybez Kartel in person (if we dont take into consideration the fact that these people would kill for him and he knows this). I just cant appreciate how these people allow themselves to be so dependent on him. so much so that he can send message for someone to be “wired” (Gaza term referring to the beating of one individual by a group of mindless robots grown men who clearly have nothing better to do) and it just happens like that. You beat up on your own friend because the Teacha says so??

Gaza life is not for me but for now I don’t have much of a choice in the matter. Until I get a chance to leave I’ll keep blogging about my neighbours and their very colourful lives.

Toodles,

Sherjei

Leave a Reply

