Fame! I Wanna Live Forever

The suggested topic for today on The Daily Post website is “do you want to live forever?”. Upon seeing this topic I immediately started singing “Fame, I wanna live forever, I wanna learn how to fly…” (ps… I don’t sound very good but who cares)

I’ve never taken the time to sit and think whether I would want to live forever. As I now try to come up with the benefits of such a venture a few questions come to mind.

1. Does living forever also mean I will never get old?

2. Does living forever mean I will have all the abilities I now have and will not become dependent on anyone to bathe and feed and clothe me?

3.Who will be my friends?

4. Will I be the only person who can live forever?

If it is that I can live forever and never get old (by that I mean I will never have to be fully dependent on anyone to take care of me) then maybe I’d want to live forever.

If living forever means that I can make new friends, try new things and take on new adventures then maybe I would want to live forever.

If living forever means that I can be active enough to play with my grandchildren and my grandchildren’s grandchildren then maybe I wanna live forever.

If living forever means that I can actually live and not just exist then of course I would live forever.

In the final analysis these things are not possible. I will get old, my teeth will probably fall out and eventually I will need someone to wipe my @$$ after I’ve <insert word here>. Overtime I will lose the ability to walk and talk and lift my own fork to my mouth. So its official, I don’t wanna live forever. My life will end one day and hopefully I will have contributed enough to the world for some legacy of mine to live forever.

Sherjei.

Leave a Reply

