Life’s Tug Of War

Who among has a perfect life? No one.

It is this fact that has helped me to ward off depression in my most challenging times.

Gone are the days when I thought my problems were the the worst of all. I’ve come to realize to that there will always be someone who has it better than me and in the same breath there will always be someone who is worse off, so I’ve tried as much as possible not to compare myself to anyone else but rather to be grateful for all that I have (not always easy but it works).

So what if I’m not rich and I have no clue how I’m going to manage to repay my students’ loans? I have a degree and I’m a hustler an assiduous worker. I help as many people as I can in as many ways as I can (although this is often times daunting as people are ungrateful, But I think my mother knows better than I do and having a big heart has certainly helped her through life, so I continue anyway). Blessings will carry me through.

Over the past seven months I’ve had a million reasons to cry, but for each of those reasons I’ve found ten more for me to smile.

Me during my graduation from the University of the West Indies, Mona

While browsing the web this morning to find inspirational thoughts (as i often do) I came across this poem on inspirational-poems.net. It didn’t say who wrote it but whoever did gets a thumbs up form me.

– Sherjei.

Life can seem ungrateful

Life can seem ungrateful, and not always kind.
Life can pull at your heartstrings, and play with your mind.
Life can be blissful, and happy and free.
Life can put beauty, in the things that you see.

Life can place challenges, right at your feet.
Life can make good, of the hardships that we meet.
Life can overwhelm you, and make your head spin.
Life can reward those, determined to win.

Life can be hurtful, and not always fair.
Life can surround you, with people who care.
Life clearly does offer, its ups and its downs.
Life’s days can bring you, both smiles and frowns.
Life teaches us to take, the good with the bad.
Life is a mixture, of happy and sad.

So…..

Take the life that you have, and give it your best.
Think positive, be happy, let God do the rest.
Take the challenges, that life has laid at your feet.
Take pride and be thankful, for each one you meet.
To yourself give forgiveness, if you stumble and fall.
Take each day that is dealt you, and give it your all.

Take the love that you’re given, and return it with care.
Have faith that when needed, it will always be there.
Take time to find the beauty, in the things that you see.
Take life’s simple pleasures, let them set your heart free.

The idea here is simply, to even the score.
As you are met and faced with, Life’s Tug Of War.

2 comments on “Life’s Tug Of War

Leave a Reply

