My Compound Effect Project

Day 22…

It takes 21 days to create a habit, they say… Today I am at DAY 22!!

On June 1st I started my journey to a healthier life for the one millionth time. 

If you’ve been following my blog over the years you may be rolling your eyes now and thinking here we go again and understandably so, but bear with me because this time will be different.

Yes… I know I’ve also said that before and you have no faith in my words anymore but I’m asking for a little trust here… Trust that this time my approach is different, trust that this time I’m more committed than ever before, trust that this time it’s more than just about losing the pounds but a move to literally change and possibly save my life.

When I turned 27 on April 30th this year I decided that the next year of my life would be life changing. I had already set the ground work over the past year for some bold moves to come and I am ready to move full seed ahead. I detailed my goals and my next steps in my little notebook and immediately started to figure out how I’d be achieving them.

One such goal is to learn as much as possible from some of the greatest minds in the world. From this goal my Journey to 300 books was born (a quest to read 300 books that will ultimately make me the best version of myself). I opted to start with books about life lessons and Book3of300 is what gave me the nudge I needed to restart my journey to a healthier me.

Book3of300 is Darren Hardy’s The Compound Effect which I listened to free of charge on mixcloud.com. The principle the book teaches is very simple but really profound and I plan to listen to it a few more times over the next few months.

In his book Hardy posits that if you make small changes, and commit to them over time the results will be compounded and inevitably yield amazing results. This resonated with me because every time I have embarked on my weight-loss or healthy lifestyle journey in the past I literally ran into it trying to change everything all at once and of course I would always lose steam after a week or two.

I listened as Hardy advised that in order to create new and healthy habits I would first need to become acutely aware of my bad habits. I would have to understand what caused these habits and what contributes to their success and eventually it would be easier to break them. There is no magic formula, there is no overnight sustainable fix… this would  take time and I will have to commit.

Before I even got to wondering how I would be able to achieve my desired results Hardy provided the answer. TRACKING!! Choose one thing you want to change and spend 21 days tracking every detail relating to it, he said, and so my food tracking began.

I bought a small notebook that goes everywhere I do and everything that goes to my mouth gets recorded. I’ve only forgotten to make the recording for two days over that period while I was working and quickly moved to rectify that.

I must confess that after 21 days I am surprised at how my eating has changed. By week two I had started to rethink some things I would normally eat because I started to feel a little cute about the possibility of using a second page for one day. And for week three I had started to plan from the night before what I wanted to eat for the following day and moved to pack a lunch kit to take to work with healthier snack options.

On Day 21 I decided to visit a nutritionist for a consultation. The cost burnt a hole in my pocket and his recommendation of a two week juice only detox programme along with exercise has hurt my heart but I’m busy figuring out how to fund it all because afterall, I only have one body and would love to be able to fit into my clothes again and would love to enjoy it for many years to come!

PS… I was craving a slice of Oreo cheesecake to celebrate my 22 DAY 22 milestone but then I’d have to write that down in my little notebook and that wouldn’t look too good with all the progress I’ve made… So I’ll just smile as I eat this Oikos Black Cherry Yogurt and prepare for my upcoming 14 day juice only detox programme…

Stay with me on my journey, I have a feeling it’s going to be an exciting ride.

I’ll keep you posted!

~Shermaine

Leave a Reply

